Preserving Fish Skins, 2011

I’ve had  a keen interest in taxidermy and methods of preserving for a while now and find the processes involved and the outcomes fascinating.  Whether this may be very traditional practices used to preserve food, or treating skins and wool in order to make clothing; or a more contemporary approach allowing the skins to be used as an art material.  I had to give it a go myself!  Fish skin felt an appropriate starting point, as well as being relevant to my work, as I’ve mentioned in previous blog posts my brothers are avid fishermen so I managed to scam a few fish skins off them for practice in the back garden. I tried various processes and methods of soaking and rubbing, mostly involving salt and soda crystals.  I had a fantastic time experimenting and this is definitely not the last of it.

Here’s a few photos of some of the results:

Mackerel skin treated with Soda crystals and dried. Top.

Mackerel skin treated with Soda crystals and dried. Underside.

Dog fish skin.

Dog fish skin.

One thought on “Preserving Fish Skins, 2011

  1. Pingback: Winter Preserving | Vivian Ross-Smith

Leave a Reply

