A very eventful year

2013 has been one hell of a year! Looking back I am so thankful for the opportunities it has given me.

The year kicked off with a monumental blur of endless work and emotions as I pulled together my final year of art school. Seeing my dissertation and degree show complete made four years of hard work completely worthwhile and I was overcome with happiness for me and my amazingly talented fellow students. Art school taught me more than I ever thought it would and it allowed me to make some amazing friends that I am planning big things with for the future. Graduation in a super sunny Aberdeen was also a definite highlight of 2013!IMG_4680After all the  hype of rounding up life at Gray’s I was so excited to get stuck into my first major commission for BlueSky Business Space in Aberdeen. The whole process was amazing for me and really kept my work momentum going over the summer. I was completely blown away by the feedback I received and will always look back on the experience with very fond memories.

I did however managed to steal myself away from work a couple of times during the year to travel, one of my real loves in life. I was delighted to meet up with international friends in Paris for a fun long weekend of sightseeing, drinking wine and having picnics in front of the eiffel tower. Very surreal!

IMG_5507My friend had the fantastic experience of working at the Scottish Pavillion at the 2013 Venice  Biennale so naturally I had to visit…it would have been rude not to! It was my second time to Venice and it did not fail to impress again, such beauty and culture packed into such a tiny space. Perfect.IMG_6333I ended the year back home in Shetland enjoying the company of good friends and family while working away to save some pennies for future endeavours. Currently I am busy preparing, starting and finishing work for an upcoming exhibition and I find myself wondering what opportunities and good times are waiting for me in the year ahead.

Happy New year and I wish you all an adventurous, creative 2014, full of laughter  xx

 

 

Leave a Reply

