Exhibition – Fragments

Its been a great joy to see so many people visiting and reacting to my recent works currently showing in Da Gadderie, Lerwick. Thank you all for the support so far, its been great exhibiting in my home town.

The exhibition is still on and will be open until 16th March.

20140226-162330.jpgShetland Museum & Archives and Da Gadderie

I always find myself getting frustrated when photographing my work. All my works are very textural and with the layering of surface and material the work really needs to be seen in the flesh to completely understand it. I love making tactile pieces that the viewer needs to get up close and personal with in order to explore and visually deconstruct. The high shine resin I use is no easy material to photograph either! But I’ve given it a bash, so for those of you not in Shetland I have formed a wee virtual tour for you here. I hope you enjoy it!

20140226-162858.jpg

IMGP2737‘Tectonic’ Mixed media

IMGP2534

Fragments I‘Fragment I’  Linen, copper sulphate, Shetland wool and rust
IMGP2524‘Fragment II’  Preserved fish skin and glass wax

IMGP2522‘Fragment III’  Preserved seaweed, linen, Shetland wool, rust and glasswax

IMGP2640

IMGP2712

IMGP2662‘Foliation’  Mixed media

IMGP2721‘Foliation’  (Detail) Mixed Media

Cheers, until next time!

20140226-164319.jpg

2 thoughts on “Exhibition – Fragments

Leave a Reply

