Exploring Scotland’s North West

Since living down in Aberdeenshire I have been enjoying some lovely visits from loved ones. With their company I’ve been taking the opportunity to explore my surroundings and enjoy Scotland.

I can’t quite get over how fantastically easy it is to just head off on a wee adventure and not have to worry about planes or ferries, or crossing ocean’s to get to another part of the country. This may be nothing to write home about for a “mainlander” but to an islander this is a fantastic novelty! My mum arrived into Aberdeen not long ago and we had a whole weekend ahead with no plans…oh the possibilities! We set off in our wee rental car and ended up taking quite a brilliant tour of North West Scotland.Screen Shot 2016-03-31 at 18.20.19

As I’ve mentioned time and time again on this wee blog of mine, Im a HUGE geology fan. Any chance I get to explore the landscape of a place and specifically a wild, exposed area, I am in my element. Scotland has such a fantastically ranging landscape and admittedly having not spent a huge amount of time in the Highlands I was happy to get out and experience that part of our wonderful country, especially the North West Highlands GeoPark area.

I started writing a long, winding explanation on where each place was and why I liked it – but that explanation offered nothing new. I decided to let the images speak for themselves. So here’s a teeny sneak peak into the majestic views we enjoyed.

I urge you to get out and explore. There’s wonderful things to be seen, even on your very doorstep.  



 DSCF3080 DSCF3133 DSCF3158DSCF3092

One thought on “Exploring Scotland’s North West

Leave a Reply

