Bronze Net – Korpo

During my time at the Scottish Sculpture Workshop I had a go at my first every bronze casting. This was the plan I made:

  1. Make two small nets from natural fibres
  2. Cast each net in bronze
  3. Take the first net to Fair Isle, Shetland
  4. Allow the first net time to patina in the North Sea
  5. Take the second net to Korpo, Finland
  6. Allow the second net time to patina in the Baltic Sea
  7. Display the nets alongside each other

DSCF3432

Over the summer I completed the first half of my plan, one of the nets came with me home to Fair Isle and I soaked it in North Sea water.

The salt content was high and the nets changed very quickly, details of blue and green popped up and altered the net’s surface.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

When I travelled to Finland I packed the second net amongst my belonging and took it on the long journey to the Archipelago.

This second little net however, has turned out to be a very different piece from its sister. The salinity of the Baltic Sea is much much lower than the North Sea, meaning the net is going through much more subtle changes. Due to the shallowness of the sea and the amount of fresh water run-offs from inland, the surface waters of the Baltic’s central basin is actually more hydrating than dehydrating to drink.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Each morning I have been taking a walk from the AARK residency space to the edge of the water and immersing the net. At the end of each day I return and collect the net into the safety of my studio. This has turned into a routine I am very fond of and will continue to do so until I leave Finland at the end of this month.


 

img_6611I am eager to see the net’s alongside each other as finished pieces, each of them representing a different island.

You can see the nets for yourself in my upcoming solo show at Bonhoga Gallery, Shetland opening mid January. More details soon!

img_5537

 

One thought on “Bronze Net – Korpo

  1. I’ve been following this project since you began it, and it’s so interesting to see the photos of the pieces in place. Thanks for including the videos as well. These are absolutely lovely, and I’m looking forwarding to seeing photos from the exhibition.

Leave a Reply

